Matt Sayles / Invision/AP 1 / 2
Matt Sayles / Invision/AP 1 / 2

Drew Barrymore and Wanda Sykes have been named as honorees at this spring's GLAAD Media Awards.

The Gay and Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) announced that Barrymore will receive the Vanguard award, while Sykes will be honored with the Stephen F. Kolzak award at the 21st annual awards in Los Angeles on April 17.

Barrymore's Vanguard award is given to individuals who have increased the visibility and understanding of the LGBT community. "I was born, bred and raised among diversity, it has defined me and made me the person I am today," Barrymore said of the news. "I'm honored and humbled to be receiving this award."

The Stephen F. Kolzak award is given to an openly LGBT media professional who has made a significant difference in promoting equal rights for the LGBT community. "I am truly honored to receive the Stephen F. Kolzak award," commented Sykes. "I greatly appreciate the work that GLAAD continues to do, promoting equality, fair representation and tolerance for our LGBT community." She joked, "I just pray that I don't ruin what GLAAD has achieved with all of my shenanigans."

Actress Candis Cayne and actor Wilson Cruz are set to host the awards, with presenters that include Tom Ford, Benjamin Bratt and more to be announced. Nominees for this year's awards were announced in January.

For more on GLAAD and the awards, visit

Related stories: Adam Lambert, Lady Gaga Nominated for GLAAD Awards  GLAAD Calls on Perez Hilton to Reflect on 'Defamatory Language'