And the Nominees for the 2009 ALMA Awards Are...

ETonline, Tuesday, August 25, 2009, 10:02am (PDT)
  • From Christina Aguilera to Eva Longoria Parker and Charlie Sheen -- ET has the nominees for the 2009 ALMA Awards (American Latino Media Arts), which will be hosted by Longoria Parker and George Lopez.

    "I am proud that we will be able to pay tribute to a record number of Latino performers and just thrilled to have one of the funniest men on the planet, George Lopez, as my co-host this year. If you know me and you know George, anything can happen so tune in!" says Longoria Parker.

    The nominees were announced this morning at Beso, Longoria Parker's Latin-themed restaurant in Hollywood.

    This year the Fashion Icon award will be presented based on Internet voting, so click here to vote for the best style icon in this list: Jessica Alba, Alessandra Ambrosia, Elsa Benitez, Gisele Bundchen, Fergie, Daisy Fuentes, Adriana Lima, Jennifer Lopez and Eva Longoria Parker.

    This year, the show will have a significant format change with specially produced packages highlighting Latinos in their entertainment field. One of the Latino performers in each category will be honored for Special Achievement.


    Special Achievement Honorees



    Charlie Sheen, "Two and a Half Men," CBS

    Demián Bichir, "Weeds," SHO

    George Lopez, "Mr. Troop Mom," NICK

    Horatio Sanz, "In The Motherhood," ABC

    Jake T. Austin, "Wizards of Waverly Place," Disney Channel

    James Roday, "Psych," USA

    Joshua Gomez, "Chuck," NBC

    Mark Indelicato, "Ugly Betty," ABC

    Oscar Nunez, "The Office," NBC

    Ricardo Antonio Chavira, "Desperate Housewives," ABC

    Tony Plana, "Ugly Betty," ABC


    America Ferrera, "Ugly Betty," ABC

    Ana Ortiz, "Ugly Betty," ABC

    Eva Longoria Parker, "Desperate Housewives," ABC

    Jamie-Lynn Sigler, "Entourage," HBO

    Jessica Alba, "The Office," NBC

    Joanna Garcia, "Privileged," CW

    Judy Reyes, "Scrubs," ABC

    Lupe Ontiveros, Reaper, CW

    Maria Canals-Barrera, "Wizards of Waverly Place," Disney Channel

    Nadine Velazquez, "My Name Is Earl," NBC

    Rosie Perez, "Lipstick Jungle," NBC

    Salma Hayek, "30 Rock," NBC

    Selena Gomez, "Wizards of Waverly Place," Disney Channel



    Adam Rodriguez, "CSI Miami," CBS

    Amaury Nolasco, "Prison Break," FOX

    Benito Martinez, "The Shield," FX

    Benjamin Bratt, "The Cleaner," A&E

    Cristian de la Fuente, "In Plain Sight," USA

    Danny Pino, "Cold Case," CBS

    Edward James Olmos, "Battlestar Galactica," SYFY

    Enrique Murciano, "Without a Trace," CBS

    Esai Morales, "Jericho," CBS

    Jimmy Smits, "Dexter," SHO

    Jorge Garcia, "Lost," ABC

    Miguel Sandoval, "Medium," NBC/CBS

    Nestor Carbonell, "Lost," ABC

    David Zayas, "Dexter," SHO

    Carlos Bernard, "24," FOX


    Alana De La Garza, "Law & Order," NBC

    Cote de Pablo, "NCIS," CBS

    Dania Ramirez, Heroes, NBC

    Eva La Rue, "CSI: Miami," CBS

    Francia Raisa, "The Secret Life of the American Teenager," ABC Family

    Julie Gonzalo, "Eli Stone," ABC

    Justina Machado, "ER," NBC

    Laura Cerón, "ER," NBC

    Lauren Vélez , "Dexter," SHO

    Michelle Rodriguez, "Lost," ABC

    Paola Turbay, "The Secret Life of the American Teenager," ABC Family

    Paula Garcés, "The Shield," FX

    Roselyn Sanchez," Without a Trace," CBS

    Sara Ramirez, "Grey's Anatomy", ABC


    Special Achievement Honorees


    Alfred Molina, 'Pink Panther 2'

    Cheech Marin, 'Race To Witch Mountain'

    Freddy Rodriguez, 'Nothing Like the Holidays'

    Oscar Nunez, 'The Proposal'

    Clifton Collins Jr. , 'Star Trek; Crank: High Voltage'

    Efren Ramirez, 'Crank: High Voltage'

    Javier Bardem, 'Vicky Cristina Barcelona'

    Joaquin Phoenix, 'Two Lovers'

    John Leguizamo, 'Nothing Like the Holidays'

    Luis Guzmán, 'The Taking of Pelham 123'

    Ramon Rodriguez, 'Transformers: Revenge of The Fallen'


    Elisabeth Peña, 'Nothing Like the Holidays'

    Sofía Vergara, 'Madea Goes to Jail'

    Cameron Diaz, 'My Sister's Keeper'

    Eva Mendes, 'The Women, The Spirit'

    Michelle Rodriguez, 'Fast & Furious'

    Penélope Cruz, 'Vicky Cristina Barcelona'

    Rosario Dawson, 'Seven Pounds'

    Zoe Saldana, 'Star Trek'


    Special Achievement Honorees


    David Archuleta -- Male Rising Star

    Enrique Iglesias


    Pitbull -- Hot Track

    Christina Aguilera

    Demi Lovato

    Kat DeLuna -- Female Rising Star

    Lynda Carter

    Black Eyed Peas

    Other special tributes and honors:

    Anthony Quinn Award for Industry Excellence

    Salma Hayek

    Special Achievement in Sports Television

    Oscar De La Hoya

    Tribute to Ricardo Montalban

    Presented by Rita Moreno

    Catch the awards show when it airs Friday, Sept. 18 at 8 p.m. on ABC.

Show Comments
When using Facebook Connect your image and name may display on Wonderwall. All Privacy Settings are controlled by Facebook
Like us on Facebook?
Thanks for subscribing!