Invision/AP 1 / 7

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has announced that the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize will be awarded to President Barack Obama "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples."

This makes Obama only the third sitting president of the United States to receive this prestigious honor. Woodrow Wilson won in 1919 and Theodore Roosevelt in 1906. Jimmy Carter was honored in 2002, well after his departure from the Oval Office in 1981.

The committee took particular note of Obama's "vision of a world free from nuclear arms."