The Hollywood Reporter -- PARIS - Six influential executives are set to receive the inaugural Medaille d'Honneur during MIPTV's 50th anniversary edition. With just over a week to go until the international television industry heads to Cannes' Croisette, conference organizer Reed MIDEM announced the new award and this year's recipients Wednesday night.

"With the inaugural MIPTV 2013 Médaille d'Honneur, we're delighted to honor six great industry personalities, highly recognized in their respective countries and by the international community, who have through their talent, leadership and passion, played a significant role in the global television industry," said Laurine Garaude, director of Reed MIDEM's television division.

PHOTOS: MIPTV 2012 in Pictures

All six of the honorees are longtime TV industry veterans. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to the international television business and development of the global TV community.

Among the recipients are EOS founder and former Association of Commercial Television president Jan Mojto, Sony Japan senior vp Masao Takiyama, France's Groupe M6 chair Nicolas de Tavernost and BSkyB managing director of content Sophie Turner Laing. Laing also serves as BAFTA vp and governor of the UK's National Film and TV School.

And keeping it all in the family, both CBS Global Distribution CEO Armando Nunez and his father, former ITC Entertainment vp Armando Nunez Sr., will also take home honors.

The Medaille d'Honneur awards will be presented during a gala dinner at the Carlton Hotel on April 10.

Related article on

MIPTV 2013: Canadian Producers Turning Kids Book 'Go Away Unicorn!' into TV Cartoon

_ _ _ _

Find more online: